Who Am I?

I was the leaf,
The sign of new life..

Happy to belong
To a tree..
Thinking that,
Belonging is my destiny..

I was the last leaf*,
Giving hope to a dying soul..
Just by being myself,
And yet saving a life..

A storm blew,
The tree dint bend..
So it broke..
And couldn’t hold on
To this tiny leaf..

Now,
I’m a leaf,
Drifting in water..
Trusting the water,
To take me somewhere..

Hoping with faith,
That somewhere is
A good destination
And it might even be
A good foundation..

But am I drifting
Down a stream?
To a garden
Where I could
Bloom again?

Or am I swirling
Within a whirlpool?
Into the vortex
To be shattered
And torn to pieces?

Am I going to be
Picked up,
Adored
Treasured and
Preserved
For years to come?

Am I going to be
The life support
Of another drifter
A tiny ant
And help it
Reach shore safe?

Time answers all questions..
But the question is,
Will I be there
To hear the answer?

Dear time,
Who are you gonna answer?
When are you gonna answer?
And most of all
Would you eventually answer?

*The last leaf of O.Henry