I surrender unto you!

Movie: Bharathi
Poet: Subramanya bharathi
Singer: Bombay Jayashree
Music : Ilayaraaja
Song Sequence: (1)-(1)-(2)-(1)-(1)-(3)-(1)-(4)-(1)-(5)-(1)-(1)-(2)-(1)-(1)

(1)நின்னைச் சரணடைந்தேன்
கண்ணம்மா
நின்னைச் சரணடைந்தேன்

ninnai charanadaindhen,
kannamma,
ninnai charanadaindhen,

I surrender unto you,
oh beloved (the ultimate truth),
I surrender unto you,

(2)பொன்னை உயர்வைப் புகழை விரும்பிடும்
பொன்னை உயர்வைப் புகழை விரும்பிடும்
என்னைக் கவலைகள் தின்னத் தகாதென்று

ponnai, uyarvai, pugalai virumbidum,
ponnai, uyarvai, pugalai virumbidum,
ennai kavalaigal thinna thagadhendru,

I (human) desire (long) for gold (riches), status, fame,
I (human) desire (long) for gold (riches), status, fame,
let all these numerous worries (desires) not eat me up,

(3)மிடிமையும் அச்சமும் மேவி என் நெஞ்சில்
மிடிமையும் அச்சமும் மேவி என் நெஞ்சில் 
குடிமை புகுந்தன, கொன்றவை போக்கின்று

midimaiyum achamum mevi en nenjil,
midimaiyum achamum mevi en nenjil,
kudimai pugunthana, kondravai pokkindru,

cowardice and fear have spread through my heart,
cowardice and fear have spread through my heart,
these feelings have made my heart their home, In order to kill and permanently remove them from my heart,

(4)தன் செயல் எண்ணித் தவிப்பது தீர்ந்திங்கு
நின் செயல் செய்து நிறைவு பெறும் வண்ணம்

than seyal enni thavipadhu theerndhingu,
nin seyal seydhu niraivuperum vannam,

Let my quest (suffering) end here for what I deem as my tasks (leads to excessive pride/resentment due to the attachment we develop to things),
instead I will do (them as) your tasks (what you have destined for me), and attain fulfilment,

(5)துன்பம் இனி இல்லை, சோர்வில்லை, சோர்வில்லை, தோற்ப்பில்லை
நல்லது தீயது நாமறியோம், நாமறியோம், நாமறியோம்
அன்பு நெறியில் அறங்கள் வளர்த்திட, நல்லது நாட்டுக, தீமையை ஓட்டுக

thunbam ini illai, sorvillai, sorvillai, thorpillai
nalladhu theeyadhu naam ariyom, naam ariyom ,naam ariyom
anbu neriyil arangal valarthida,
nalladhu nattuga, theemaiyai ottuga

There will be no more sorrow, no more exhaustion (desperation), no more defeats,
I don’t know to differentiate the good and the bad (evil), I don’t know , I don’t know,
let morality (righteousness) grow in  me by means of love,
please ensure that the good prevails and the evil perishes

PS: Thanks to Sucheendra for the translation

Your reply to the ripple

